Artists. Calendar. Catalog. Media. Membership. Company. Links. Free. Contact. Listen.


(for vinyl buyers - see description)

Arms and Sleepers - Matador from David Altobelli on Vimeo.

01. Orly
02. Matador
03. The Architekt
04. Twentynine Palms
05. Helvetica
06. The International
07. Simone
08. Kino
09. Words Are For Sleeping
10. The Paramour

(different track order for vinyl release)

Arms on the Radio


myspace - facebook - last.fm - youtube



ArmsArms and Sleepers are a duo of comprised of Max Lewis (Boston, MA) and Mirza Ramic (Portland, ME). Formed in 2006, they have produced multiple albums, EPs and hand-made releases, most notably the Bliss Was It In That Dawn To Be Alive EP (Fake Chapter, 2006) and the well-received Black Paris 86 (Expect Candy, 2008). Following an intense touring schedule in 2008 and 2009 that included appearances in the UK, Europe, and North America and saw the band opening for the likes of Asobi Seksu, The Books, Her Space Holiday, Cass McCombs, Lymbyc Systym, This Will Destroy You and Caspian, Max and Mirza took a break to focus on a new proper full-length in the summer of 2009. The result is Matador, featuring contributions from numerous musicians, including Tom Brosseau (Fat Cat Records), Shelley Short (Hush Records), Ben Shepard and Catherine Worsham (of Uzi & Ari), Philip Jamieson (of Caspian) and Mona Elliott (of Travels).

Matador is an album studded with varying themes and textures. The synergy between a haunting sonic mix and delicate, ethereal lyrics yield an ambitious, precise whole. Maintaining consistent intensity and energy, the music and artwork both reflect the moodiness behind the concept of the album, which can be summarized as a reaction to the surroundings and circumstances Max and Mirza found themselves in throughout the past two years. Matador also finds the duo expanding on their sound, reaching for a new and fresh direction. Vocals are more prominent throughout the album than with previous releases, and the band ventures into new soundscapes, incorporating an expansive array of instruments. The result is a cinematic and hypnagogic mix of rusts, antique grays and olive greens which evoke an eerie nostalgia - memories of places you’ve never been and things you’ve never seen.

In stores/online now but mail orders are still available with a hand-made & numbered LYRIC SHEET (1/100)! Please Note: This link is for US/Can CD orders - Europe CD buyers go to EC, Japan CD buyers go to FM.

CD $10

SOLD OUT! Limited edition of 500; first 100 units were pressed on gold viny. Every LP will also include a password to free MP3 downloads of the tracks (320 Kbps quality. We have no more in our offices and (I believe) the band has sold out of their copies on the road. INSOUND - Don't worry, you MAY still be able buy the LP at Insound - as I type this they have copies in stock but obviously not many.

CONGRATS TO DIMITRIOS PAPADOPOULOS OF GREECE - The Winner of the Test Press! Included a very special ONE-TIME ONLY hand-made packaging design!
Fake Chapter Home.